Country: Iceland

Prinspóló - Föstudagsmessa (video)

New from Icelandic artist Prinspóló. "Föstudagsmessa" is the first new song from him since his debut album "Jukk" was released last June.

Top 10s for 2011: It's a Trap! Contributors

Días Nórdicos 2012

Días Nórdicos 2011, the Nordic art and music festival in Spain this past September/October, was apparently a resounding success and now the event is looking to expand for their next edition in 2012 with more disciplines, more venues, more partners and eventually, more cities. Read the official report with highlights from 2011 as well as goals for 2012 right here:

Top 10s for 2011: Lars (Okkultokrati/Problems/White Juice/Ormeyngel)

Top 10s for 2011: Lars (Okkultokrati/Problems/White Juice/Ormeyngel)

Final nominees announced for Nordic Music Prize

The final 12 nominees for the 2011 Nordic Music Awards have been decided and they are as follows:

Ane Brun - It all starts with one
Lykke Li - Wounded rhymes
Rubik - Solar
Gus Gus - Arabian horse
Malk De Koijn - Toback to the fromtime
Siinai - Olympic game
Björk - Biophilia
Iceage - New brigade
Montée - Renditions of you
Anna Järvinen - Anna själv tredje
Goran Kajfes - X/Y
The Field - Looping state of mind

Read more:

Spotify Apps (video)

Spotify now has apps.

Top 10s start tomorrow

Tomorrow: so begins our annual top 10 list bonanza. I could still squeeze in a few more contributors, so if you think you're deserving of a spot, please get in touch!

Dad Rocks! - Mount ModernDad Rocks!
Mount Modern
Father Figure Records/Paper Garden Records


The talent present on Snævar Njáll Albertsson's debut full-length is undeniable. In the same creative neighborhood as the criminally underappreciated Alcoholic Faith Mission, Albertsson, an Icelander now living in Denmark, crafts lush pop soundscapes awash with his cleverly worded, sharp observations of contemporary life. The album is a distinct pleasure, perhaps the best of its kind to come out this year, but as with every album that is deemed "clever," Albertsson's "Mount Modern" has the tendency to occasionally be too clever for its own good: the instrumentation occasionally feeling a little too cute, the rich arrangements leaving the shadowy side of the street in order to frolic in the sun, and the lyrics can, with repeated listening, lose some of their initial charm. That said, I'll take an album that is sporadically too smart, too layered, too happy, and too charming over the limp, anemic indie pop offerings that get hyped every other week. And when Dad Rocks! gets it right, he really gets it right -- like you want to make a mixtape for a friend with tracks off "Mount Modern" right. "Take care", one of the many highlights, balances itself perfectly between detached cynicism and intimate despair, both in its musical and lyrical approach: "And they watch the military fireworks and talk about traveling light, and there's a global spread of wasted lives which we'll later take care of with knives." "Mount Modern" is a soundtrack for those who find beauty in the winds tearing the last of the autumn leaves from the trees, who appreciate the descent into winter because they are hopeful for the spring.
- Lars Garvey Laing-Peterson

Nordic Music Prize 2011 semi-finalists

The semi-finalists for the 2011 Nordic Music Prize have been revealed:

Anna Ternheim - The night visitor
Jonathan Johansson - Klagomuren
Loney Dear - Hall music
The Field - Looping state of mind
Mattias Alkberg - Anarkist
Lykke Li - Wounded rhymes
Anna Järvinen - Anna själv tredje
Deportees - Islands & shores
Veronica Maggio - Satan i gatan
Goran Kajfes - X/Y

Larsen & Furious Jane - Dolly
Michael Møller - A Month of Unrequited Love
Oh Land - Oh Land
Mikael Simpson - Noget Laant, Noget Blaat
The Late Great Fitzcarraldos - The Late Great Fitzcarraldos
Malk De Koijn - Toback To The Fromtime
Iceage - New Brigade
Thulebasen - Gate 5
When Saints Go Machine - Konkylie
Hymns From Nineveh - Hymns From Nineveh

Von Hertzen Brothers - Stars Aligned
Röyhkä & Mattila - Kaksi lensi tuulen mukaan
22-Pistepirkko - Lime Green Delorean
French Films - Imaginary Future
Siinai - Olympic Games
Rubik - Solar
Regina - Soita mulle
Michael Monroe - Sensory Overdrive
Mirel Wagner - Mirel Wagner
Chisu - Kun valaistun

Sóley - We Sink
Lay Low - Brostinn strengur
Ham - Svik, harmur og dauði
Sin Fang - Summer Echoes
FM Belfast - Don’t Want To Sleep
Gus Gus - Arabian Horse
Mugison - Haglél
Björk - Biophilia
Apparat Organ Quartet - Pólýfónía

Razika - Program ’91
Lars Vaular - Du betyr meg
Jonas Alaska - Jonas Alaska
Team Me - To The Treetops!
Ane Brun - It All Starts With One
Stein Torleif Bjella - Vonde Visu
120 Days - 120 Days II
Montée - Renditions Of You
John Olav Nilsen og Gjengen - Det nærmeste du kommer
Martin Hagfors - I like you

This list will eventually be culled down to a final 12 on December 1 before the winner is crowned on February 16.

Fin interviews Nordic By Nature

Fin Nettmagasin has a feature interview with Nina and Steffi from Berlin-based Scandinavian clubnight Nordic By Nature:

Nordic Music Prize 2011

The 12 nominees for the 2nd annual Nordic Music Prize will be announced on December 1 with the winner being crowned on February 16 at Kulturkirken Jakob in Oslo during by:Larm.

Inni preview

Sigur Rós are currently streaming the first 10 minutes of their new DVD "Inni" at Facebook:

Drowned in Sound presents Nordic Sounds

Drowned in Sound has launched a new Scandinavian music column called Nordic Sounds:
Content covered include their selections for the best albums of 2011 so far, a bit of a news roundup and some coverage of Iceland Airwaves.

SXSW 2012 first round confirmations

The first official confirmations for SXSW are out and Scandinavian artists on the list include Agent Fresco, Delay Trees, I Got You On Tape, Marit Larsen, Niki & The Dove, 120 Days, Team Me and Thulebasen. Read more:

Ja Ja Ja Nordic label spotlight: Kimi Records

Ja Ja Ja is running a series of label profiles, starting with out of Iceland: