Artist: Red Moon

Country: Sweden
Genre: Indie/Pop/Rock
Reviews: Suspicious (mp3) / Demo / Nothing there (mp3)
Viewing posts 1-8 out of 8

MP3: Red Moon - Suspicious

Alright, finally some new music from Red Moon. Probably should've posted this weeks ago, but life/work has intervened and besides, it's generally for the best that I let things percolate a bit first. Anyhow, glad to have Katarina and Eva Thulin back on my speakers and likewise glad that they're continuing to put out superb dreampop as if they never took a 5-year break. "Suspicious" is my favorite tune from the duo's new EP "I am here", both the longest and heaviest they have on offer, though if you dig on this you'll surely dig the rest. All the major label-funded JAMC wannabees can't hold a candle to these ladies, never could.

Red Moon - Suspicious

New music from Red Moon

At long last, Red Moon has graced us with seven new tracks:
I've been wanting to hear something new from these ladies for something like 5 years now, so I'm super excited to check this out.

New music coming from Red Moon

It's been a looooong time since we've heard anything new from the excellent Red Moon, but now they say seven new songs will arrive in November:

Here's the playlist for this week's radio show:

01. Boys of Scandinavia - Worse than a girl
02. TALK 1
03. Markus Krunegård - Jag är en vampyr
04. Deathbed - Neon light fantasy
05. The Grand Opening - Dark dark dawn
06. TALK 2
07. The Bear Quartet - I have an itch
08. C.Aarmé - Dustin
09. Noxagt - Wall's end
10. TALK 3
11. Menfolk - Hell is in Texas
12. Detektivbyrån - Hemvägen
13. Folk&Røvere - Solveigs sang
14. TALK 4
15. Bobby Baby - Goodbye love
16. Häive - Raina: Yömyrsky
17. Peter Bjorn and John - All those expectations
18. TALK 5
19. Meleeh - Vittra
20. Rigas - The hardest pocket to pick
21. The Kid - Mayhem troopers
22. TALK 6
23. Cortex - Warrior night
24. Tiger Lou - The war between us
25. Sophie Rimheden - Stay the night (ft. Adam Tensta)
26. TALK 7
27. Moto Boy - Beat heart
28. Nina Ramsby & Martin Hederos - Kanske jag kommer hem
29. September Malevolence - Who watches the watchmen?
30. TALK 8
31. Säkert! - Sanningsdan
32. Paper - Before that day
33. Moonbabies - Walking on my feet
34. TALK 9
35. Susanne Sundfør - I resign
36. Stina Nordenstam - Trainsurfing
37. Red Moon - The height
38. TALK 10
39. Broder Daniel - When we were winning

This week's radio show is all women:

01. Hello Saferide - I was definitely made for these times
02. TALK 1
03. Susanne Sundfør - I resign
04. Sahara Hotnights - Drive dead slow
05. Margaret Berger - Seek I'll hide
06. TALK 2
07. Marit Bergman - I will always be your soldier
08. El Perro Del Mar - Party
09. Octavia Sperati - As fire swept clean the earth
10. TALK 3
11. Robyn - Cobrastyle
12. Montys Loco - Man overboard
13. Honey Is Cool - Summer of men
14. TALK 4
15. Those Dancing Days - Hitten (demo version)
16. Christel Alsos - Come on
17. Red Moon - Landslide
18. TALK 5
19. Sophie Zelmani - To know you
20. Sanna Kurki-Suonio - Minne
21. Susanna and the Magical Orchestra - Enjoy the silence
22. TALK 6
23. Otur - Overture
24. Midaircondo - Perfect spot
25. Doughnuts - Drowning
26. TALK 7
27. Fe-mail - Jacob's leketøy
28. September - Satellites
29. Gåte - Sjå attende
30. TALK 8
31. Maia Hirasawa - Mattis & Maia (ft. Miss Li)
32. Stina Nordenstam - Parliament square (The Knife remix)
33. Munck//Johnson - Slavesong
34. Bertine Zetlitz - 500
35. TALK 9
36. Säkert! - Sanningsdan
37. Asha Ali - A promise broken
38. The Cardigans - I need some fine wine and you, you need to be nicer
39. TALK 10
40. Anja Garbarek - The last trick

In case you missed it, the music summer camp for girls that Marit Bergman helped found is called Popkollo and you can find out more information here:
Non-Swedish speakers, check the 'English' link on the bottom left for more details.

It's been awhile, but here's some new reviews for you: [click here]
Artists covered this time around include The Charade, Lemonator, Maria Lithell, Red Moon, The Second Band, Viktor Sjöberg, Tigerbombs and the four-way split "If we were oceans" featuring Kristofer Åström, Racingpaperplanes, Boy Omega and Two Times the Trauma.

Red Moon

I'm retiring the word "shoegaze" from my personal reviewing vocabulary; I think it's demeaning and overused. I much prefer the acronym-friendly "electro-ambient dream-pop" (EADP) to instantly place the sound of bands like Sweden's Red Moon in its rightful category. This delightful 4-track demo is a sublime, confident rush of lush, melancholy drone-song from the minds of Katarina and Eva Thulin. Although they're mining territory similar to Majessic Dreams, the Thulin girls build up a chiming surge of atmosphere throughout these tracks that carries you along like a fast-moving glacier (and there's a chilly ambience that provides plenty of Nordic allure). "Nothing there" generates a soothing flow from the soft keyboards and whispery vocals, but then drums kick in unexpectedly and give the tune a stellar peak, showing the pop smarts these girls possess. "Landslide" blends a lush soundscape with just a wisp of percussion, lyrically seeming to be about a lover who can't keep his promises (the vocals are mesmerizing, but are mixed to a near drone, so the words aren't always easily discernible). "The height" utilizes acoustic guitars and a static-laden foreground before launching a fairly hypnotic rhythmic element that sounds terrific through headphones. I admire the willful creative aesthetic that goes into generating sonic landscapes like this. The lyric says something about being "in the land of the midnight sun," and the music makes you feel that you are. "Closer" is a bit reminiscent of "Victorialand"-era Cocteau Twins, with subtle alterations in the vocals-to-soundscape ratio. You get the sense that the soft female voices here could dissolve into gentle static at any moment, and maybe that'll be a Red Moon trademark, who knows. But on the basis of this first recording, the Thulin sisters are certainly engaging practitioners of this particular strain of dreamy Scandinavian drone-pop, and I'll look forward to their full-length.
- Kevin Renick

MP3: Red Moon - Nothing there

I don't get a lot of demos sent to me, but what I do get is often surprisingly good. And let me tell you: it's much nicer to be surprised and impressed by a nondescript CDr than it is to be let down by a mediocre, but well-packaged "pro" CD. Red Moon is a duo of two sisters from Göteborg with an incredibly low profile as they've never played live before and have no proper webpage. The music they create is dreamy, ethereal, droning shoegazer pop - not too unlike Namur's most recent album (which I also fell in love with). Of course there's also plenty to link them to genre founders such as the Cocteau Twins and so forth, but I think their Swedish sense of melancholy gives them an extra edge. I've posted the first track from their four-song demo, but I strongly recommend that you head over to myspace to listen to the rest. Very, very impressive!

Red Moon - Nothing there