Artist: Killerchaps

Country: Sweden
Genre: Indie/Pop/Rock
Reviews: Lingua franca / s/t
Viewing posts 1-9 out of 9

New Killerchaps single next week

The new single "No one knows your name" from Swedish indierock act Killerchaps will be released on May 18.

Interview: The High Hats

Killerchaps - Lingua francaKillerchaps
Lingua franca
Adore Music


"Lingua franca" kicks off like an early punk album, back when the fledgling movement still continued on the rock'n'roll influence and twang of their few predecessors. Killerchaps' ability to combine this sound with the tropes of the contemporary indie rock scene often yields fantastic results. The influence of bands like Franz Ferdinand, another act who cuts a wide swathe through genres, is easily heard on "Got to go" and the album's extraordinary closing track "What in the world have I done". This British influence is noticeable throughout the album -- "Damn this child" and "Knee high water", two of the album's other standout tracks, feel particularly much more British than Scandinavian in their combination of influences and sounds. Despite the slew of solid songs on "Lingua franca" though, about a third of the album feels very 'par for the course.' It's a shame, I would have loved to give Killerchaps an 8 out of 10. It'll happen one day, I'm quite sure of that.
- Lars Garvey Laing-Peterson

Adore Music (Killerchaps, The Third Try Club) has signed Swedish indie act Kusowsky.

Achtung! Clothing is putting on a series of clubnights each featuring a pair of bands and a new split 7". First up is Killerchaps and Pistol Mob tonight (May 30) followed by Don Darlings/Kusowsky on July 18 and then Bye Bye Bicycle/Alex Face on August 15. More info:

Adore Music (Torpedo, Killerchaps) has announced the signing of Swedish act Vipe Out and will be releasing their debut album this coming fall. Preview at myspace:

The playlist for this week's radio show:

01. Laakso - Worst case scenario
02. TALK 1
03. Superfamily - I want my money back
04. The Bear Quartet - Ask me don't axe me
05. Ståålfågel - Små gröna män
06. TALK 2
07. Printer - Satisfaction (radio edit)
08. NEI - New morning
09. Paper - Out of it into it
10. Darkthrone - Canadian metal
11. TALK 3
12. Sweatmaster - Animal
13. Bloodbath - Buried by the dead
14. Moneybrother - Guess who's gonna get some tonight
15. TALK 4
16. The Perishers - Victorious
17. The Skull Defekts - Unholy drums are singing
18. Hell On Wheels - Alexander
19. TALK 5
20. Karin Ström - Ordlös
21. Kompjotr Eplektrika - Skulldrummantra
22. Scraps of Tape - How your heart gets thrown
23. TALK 6
24. Brainbombs - Stinking memory
25. M:40 - Brännmärkt
26. Logh - Bring on the ether
27. TALK 7
28. CS Nielsen - Happy
29. Amorphis - Weaving the incantation
30. Juvelen - Hanna
31. TALK 8
32. Killerchaps - Equally dumb
33. Dinosau - Derr lady
34. Knugen Faller - Inte som ni
35. TALK 9
36. The Kissaway Trail - La la song
37. Pg.Lost - Yes I am
38. Suburban Kids with Biblical Names - Marry me
39. TALK 10
40. Don Juan Dracula - Take me home

Killerchaps - s/tKillerchaps
Adore Music


The self-titled Killerchaps album is, in many ways, everything a 70s saturated indierock album should be. Composed of ten catchy, concise burst of songs, "Killerchaps" wraps up in just over 25 minutes. Unfortunately, while the tracks are well crafted and the brevity of the record never allows for any awkward pauses, the approach becomes nearly formulaic as the record continues. It never develops into a ghastly or horrific exercise, Killerchaps just wind themselves tightly around the straight-forwardness of their songs, allowing for little lateral movement of the guitars, bass, drums, or vocals. It feels that with the obvious talents of the band, that the 60s, Sonics-like style, combined with the contemporary influences of groups like Modest Mouse and Kings of Leon, should allow for a bit more playful variation in the composition. "Hound like tigers" and "Equally dumb", the standout track of the album, both take a few steps away from the standard sound and succeed resolutely for doing so. Overall, "Killerchaps" hits the mark, it just may be forgotten when all is said and done with this year of releases.
- Lars Garvey Laing-Peterson

Adore Music has announced the signing of Killerchaps and will be releasing their debut album in the near future. Samples here: