Artist: Fe-mail

Country: Norway
Genre: Avant/Experimental/Weird
Viewing posts 1-12 out of 12

New music samples from Rune Grammofon

has posted samples of new music in their website's player, including upcoming tracks from "Twenty years of stony sleep", the new record from Jenny Hval (Rockettothesky) and Maja Ratke (Fe-mail, etc.), as well new stuff from artists such as Ultralyd and Scorch Trio:

MP3: Trinacria - Travel now journey infinitely

Listening to Norway, part 2. I'm still concentrating mostly on traditional folk records because that's more where my mood's at, but I am pulling a few other selections from the stacks, especially the ones that fall under the category "heard of, but never heard." Trinacria is a band I've always wanted to check out and I even remember hearing about them when they first got going, but somewhere along the line I dropped the ball and never investigated further. Not sure why though 'cuz their album "Travel now journey infinitely" is killer. For the uninitiated, here is a summation of the band as lifted straight from their bio: "Trinacria was originally a composition by Ivar Bjørnson (Enslaved), Maja S. K. Ratkje and Hils Sofie Tafjord (both from Fe-mail), commissioned by Rikskonsertene for a concert series. The line-up was completed by Grutle Kjellson, Ice Dale (both from Enslaved), Iver Sandøy (Emmerhoff) and Espen Lien. In short: after working together briefly, the composition turned into a vital project which, after touring, became a fully welded band." So yeah, in short: Enslaved + Fe-mail = awesome. Hardly a surprise, though sometimes the marriage of metal and noise is not so hot. Neurosis and Man is the Bastard were the first bands I ever saw who did it and did it well, many others followed. Cult of Luna is one, Pig Destroyer is another, and of course Bastard Noise continues to bring the brutality as only they can provide (check out the new Endless Blockade split if you haven't already!). Naturally, Trinacria lean more towards the epic, blackened end of the metal spectrum as would befit their pedigree, but song-wise, the structure is more postrock-like as they build the pieces into huge crescendos over repetitive riffs and escalating chaos. Any of the six tracks contain therein would probably make for a suitable intro to the band, but I think the title-track closer is best as it's the most epic of all this epicness. Definitely an overlooked gem.

Trinacria - Travel now journey infinitely

Reunited Norwegian cult act White Lord Jesus will be releasing the new album "...into that good night" on August 18, 24 years after their debut. The first single "Strange days" includes guest vocals from Rebekka Karijord and can be downloaded here:
Other guests on said record include Arve Henriksen (Supersilent), Martin Horntveth (Jaga Jazzist, The National Bank), Bård Torstensen (Clawfinger) and Maja Ratkje (Spunk, Fe-mail).

Norwegian experimental artist Maja Ratkje (Fe-Mail, Spunk, etc.) has a new solo album entitled "River mouth echoes" out now on John Zorn's renown and respected label Tzadik as part of their "composer series":

"24 Hour Drone People" is the somewhat self-explanatory name of an event being put on by Joachim Nordwall and iDEAL Recordings set to transpire February 23-24 at Fylkingen in Stockholm. Twelve internationally regarded experimental artists are booked to participate including Hildur Gudnadottir, Hild Sofie Tafjord (Fe-Mail), Jacob Kirkegaard, BJ Nilsen, CM Von Hausswolff, Mika Vainio (Pan Sonic), Jean-Louis Huhta (Skull Defekts, Anti-Cimex), Henrik Rylander (Skull Defekts, Union Carbide Productions) as well as Joachim himself. Each artist will perform a two-hour set with no break between, spanning a full 24-hour period. Read more:

Musique Machine reviews Hild Sofie Tafjord's (Fe-mail) solo debut "Kama":

Trinacria, the collaborative project of Norwegian noise act Fe-Mail and black-metal legends Enslaved, will tour Norway later this month. Dates and samples:

This week's radio show is all women:

01. Hello Saferide - I was definitely made for these times
02. TALK 1
03. Susanne Sundfør - I resign
04. Sahara Hotnights - Drive dead slow
05. Margaret Berger - Seek I'll hide
06. TALK 2
07. Marit Bergman - I will always be your soldier
08. El Perro Del Mar - Party
09. Octavia Sperati - As fire swept clean the earth
10. TALK 3
11. Robyn - Cobrastyle
12. Montys Loco - Man overboard
13. Honey Is Cool - Summer of men
14. TALK 4
15. Those Dancing Days - Hitten (demo version)
16. Christel Alsos - Come on
17. Red Moon - Landslide
18. TALK 5
19. Sophie Zelmani - To know you
20. Sanna Kurki-Suonio - Minne
21. Susanna and the Magical Orchestra - Enjoy the silence
22. TALK 6
23. Otur - Overture
24. Midaircondo - Perfect spot
25. Doughnuts - Drowning
26. TALK 7
27. Fe-mail - Jacob's leketøy
28. September - Satellites
29. Gåte - Sjå attende
30. TALK 8
31. Maia Hirasawa - Mattis & Maia (ft. Miss Li)
32. Stina Nordenstam - Parliament square (The Knife remix)
33. Munck//Johnson - Slavesong
34. Bertine Zetlitz - 500
35. TALK 9
36. Säkert! - Sanningsdan
37. Asha Ali - A promise broken
38. The Cardigans - I need some fine wine and you, you need to be nicer
39. TALK 10
40. Anja Garbarek - The last trick

In case you missed it, the music summer camp for girls that Marit Bergman helped found is called Popkollo and you can find out more information here:
Non-Swedish speakers, check the 'English' link on the bottom left for more details.

Pitchfork reviews the collaboration between Norwegian electronic duo Fe-Mail and American artist Carlos Giffoni:

Dusted reviews the noise music event No Fun Fest which went down this past weekend in NYC and included performances from Norwegian acts Jazzkammer and Fe-mail:

Lasse Marhaug (Jazzkammer) has two new releases out. First up is a solo CDR called "Evil Has No Laundry" from Synesthetic Recordings. It consists of a single track from the "Nothing But Sound From Now On" sessions in 2001 and comes on a credit-card size disc. Second is a DVD comp from [ohm] Records called "Nor-Noise" that features interviews with scene luminaries such as Otomo Yoshihide, Tore H. Bøe, Franscisco López, Helge Sten (aka Deathprod), Maja Ratkje, Masami Akita and more. It will also come with a comp of Norwegian noise artists such as Jazzkammer, Crazy River, Norwegian Noise Orchestra, Fe-Mail and more, all totally exclusive tracks. The official release for that one isn't until September, but Lasse is offering it for mailorder now.

The Office for Contemporary Art of Norway (OCA) is putting out a compilation of Scandinavian experimental electronic music entitled "Electric Leak - the North of It". The track listing was researched and compiled by Christiane Erharter, curator at the Office for Contemporary Art Norway, along with Yngvild Færøy, Søssa Jørgensen and Elin T. Sørensen from the "artist-initiated online sound gallery" BallongMagasinet. Here's a sampling of what to expect:

Hugger-Mugger's untidy no-music attitude sounds strictly post punk. Anton Nikkilä and Tommy Olsson treat readymade sound in a subtle and poetic way. Single Unit and Pink Twins are re-interpreting heavy guitar riffs and drum sets by combining them with electronic experimental sound. Henrik Rylander feeds back 'no input' effects. Emi Maeda's interpretations of the harp create a strange yet original piece of sound. Pål Asle Pettersen contributesa multi-layered electro acoustic composition. Alexander Rishaug creates flickering soundscapes and Fe-mail's approach towards noise welcomes the unexpected but in a playful way. The compilation also presents Erkki Kurenniemi and Åke Hodell, two important figures in the history and development of electronic sound art.

For the full tracklist and ordering info, go to and look under "Biennials".